Should I keep going?


When my baby decided he would have nothing to do with breastfeeding at the age of two weeks, I decided I would pump exclusively to make sure he got the nutrition he needed.  For those of pump, you know, it’s no easy thing.  It’s  uncomfortable and it’s time consuming.  It’s also a God-send for those who can’t breastfeed.  I told myself, if I could just get him to four months, that would be great.  When I got to four months, I decided I could keep going because it’s really best for them to get breast milk until six months.  So I vowed to keep going.  This weekend my sweet boy turned six months.  And to be honest, I’m really sick of this pumping thing. And it’s becoming increasingly difficult for me to find the time to do it at work.  But, while my supply is decreasing, the milk is still there and I feel guilty stopping.  So everyday, I ask myself, should I keep going?  I haven’t decided.  What do you think?

Should I keep going?

5 thoughts on “Should I keep going?

  1. I think you need to decide what feels right for you. If you don’t feel like doing it, your baby can feel that too. I pumped for at least a year with my first, 8 months with my second and maybe 7 months with my third and I am happy not to do it ever again. It is good for your baby!

  2. Rima El Kasm says:

    Reemo, I am soooooo proud of you! You are an amazing mother to Fareedo, he is so lucky! My advice , I know that pumping is such a difficult task but keep going till the supply lasts and gradually increase the solid food and decrease the milk intake!
    Love you!

  3. Rana says:

    I know exactly how you feel because I feel the same way!!! It really sucks to pump! It’s so much work and I find myself planning my days around doing it! Everyday I want to quit but mommy guilt kicks in and I keep at it.

  4. I want to echo Rima…congrats on making it so far! Pumping is REALLY difficult. I shot for the 6 month mark and made it 5 and change with exclusively giving breast milk…then I had to cut down on pumping so much at work, and replaced the day feedings with formula and kept the night feedings, which is when I was with her, as breast milk. Perhaps, because you pump exclusively, you keep the day feedings as breast milk and get rid of the nighttime pumping – so you can enjoy so uninterrupted time with your little man??? Just an idea – either way, my sister always said – Happy Mom is a Happy Baby…so trust your gut and you can’t go wrong.

  5. Yasmine says:

    I am also so proud of you Reem! Breastfeeding and pumping are both a labor of love. You are doing your best and Fareedo is benefiting. Keep going until you feel that you really can’t endure any longer. Can you supplement half and half? That way you can build a little freezer stash and the breast milk can be used for a longer period while you gradually decrease. The more solids he eats the less milk he will need. And by nine months it is three meals of solids a day. Good luck and i am in you shoes.

Leave a Reply

