My Baby Is Sleep Training Me


It’s been weeks since my last post.  My schedule has changed at work, giving me more time to spend with my baby on a daily basis, but less days off during the week.  I now wake up in the morning, spend 30 minutes with my little one, hurriedly get dressed and run out the door.  When I’m finished with work at seven, I get home as fast as I can, run through the door and pick up the baby before he has had a chance to fall asleep.  I then strap on the pump and eat dinner so that my son has some fresh milk to send him off to dream land.  And then I do my favorite thing of the day.  I lay next to my little one and watch him fight sleep until he gives up and finally closes his eyes.  Sometimes I fall asleep before he does and that’s OK, because I need every second of slumber I can get.

Sleep.  I don’t know a single new parent that isn’t obsessed with this issue.  How can we get our child to sleep through the night?  It’s a multimillion dollar industry with hundreds of books preaching just as many techniques.   For every book or article I read, I have found there are others that tell you to use the exact opposite method.  And for every method, you’ll find at least one parent who will tell you it was miraculous and one parent who will say it was impossible to implement. 

As for me, I have given up on the idea of sleep training my baby.  He is now sleep training me.  He sleeps better when he is in our bed.  And so that’s where I put him.  If he wakes up in the middle of the night, I give him a bottle.  My son’s pediatrician, who I hope reads this blog, will be very disappointed to find this out from me.  She has advised me not to do any of the above.  It’s not that I can’t.  It’s just that I don’t want to.  I work all day and so sleepy time is also bonding time for me.  And if he wakes up, even if it’s for 10 minutes, I don’t mind giving him milk because it’s another chance for us to bond.  Some nights, he only wakes up once.  Others, four times.  I no longer check the clock because I have found that if I don’t know how little sleep I’m getting, I don’t feel as tired.

Last night, we decided we would make him sleep in his crib, the one next to our bed.  He is only 27 inches long, but he has found a way to take over most of our bed, leaving his dad and I literally sleeping on the edge.  When he complained, however, I was thrilled and picked him up and put him next to me.  I love that he loves sleeping next to me.  One day, and that day will come sooner than later, he will not want to be with us.  In the mean time, I’ll enjoy every second with him that I can get, even if it means I barely get any snooze.  I just wish we had a king size bed.

My Baby Is Sleep Training Me

4 thoughts on “My Baby Is Sleep Training Me

  1. Nads says:

    Awww Meemz I know EXACTLY what you mean! With my precious Loo-Loo, we did co-sleep because I missed him while at work but also because I needed to SLEEP and I would pretty much do anything for that. He started sleeping through the night at 9 mos. Enjoy this precious time together co-sleeping! I still tell Waleed that if he wakes up in the middle of the night or first thing in the morning to come to our bed ASAP so we could cuddle together 🙂

      1. Nads says:

        Yes he still does 😉 Aya on the other hand HATES co-sleeping. Once we got her into her crib, she doesn’t want to co-sleep anymore 😦 BTW, what is ur email? I wanted to send you some videos of the little princess in action.

Leave a Reply

