All I Want For Christmas (and my birthday)…


… is a few hours of uninterrupted sleep. For three months I have gladly woken up several times throughout the night to feed my baby and pump. There was one night when I was so tired, I actually slept for six straight hours. It was so beautiful. But it only happened once. I desperately want it to happen again.

We just came back from a trip visiting family in California and I have a very fussy jet lagged baby who refuses to sleep before 1 AM. Last night, for the first time, I actually got annoyed with my three-month old! I put him to bed at 10 PM. He woke up at 10:15. I tried again at 11. He woke up at 11:30. And I actually found myself frustrated with him. That feeling was immediately followed by enormous gilt. How could I get mad at my baby, especially when the reason for his fussiness has nothing to do with him, and everything to do with our decision to travel? I felt like a terrible mother. But I’m really tired and I really miss sleeping.

Tonight I may get my wish. It’s my birthday and my husband has offered to take the entire night shift and let me sleep. Honestly, I cannot think of a better gift. Now, the question is if I can actually let myself sleep. In my mind waking up throughout the night is synonymous with being a good mom. Plus, I’ll feel so guilty seeing my tired husband tomorrow. I wish we could both get a good night’s sleep. I wish all three of us could sleep for eight hours straight. Do you think Santa grants wishes like these?

I wish you all a happy holiday season and a very good night’s rest. As for me, I think it’s time for a nap since my little one is with daddy right now and seems to be dozing off.

Moms, will I ever get to really sleep again?

 

All I Want For Christmas (and my birthday)…

2 thoughts on “All I Want For Christmas (and my birthday)…

  1. Maya's Mama says:

    It sounds like yesterday when I felt like you do today…that’s because it was yesterday and my 10 month old still does not sleep through the night. I am definitely not the right person to ask about sleeping…if you discover a way, please let me know!!! :((

  2. omaya says:

    Yes! You will sleep again! So many people say that by 3 months, baby will start to sleep better, but for our little one it took a little longer. When she turned 5 months old, she finally started sleeping through the night! For us, the key was her quiet, dark nursery. We moved her over to her nursery when she was somewhere between 4-5 months old and although it was supremely annoying to jump out of bed and run to her room (instead of just reaching over to her bassinet), she really got used to her room. Within a month she was sleeping beautifully with maybe just one or two feedings. For peace of mind, we used a monitor that had a sensor pad that goes under her mattress and detects movement (or I should say lack of movement). My little one is now a little over a year, and you might not believe it but she sleeps a minimum of 12 hours a night now. Straight. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

