Tired


When you have a baby, people are always eager to find out how you’re doing. For me, it’s a very simple answer. I’m tired. The irony is, I have, quite possibly, the sweetest baby in the world. He only cries if he’s hungry, in pain or needs to sleep. And actually, my two-month old has been sleeping between 5-7 consecutive hours a night. It’s a dream for every mother of an infant. And yet, I never manage to even come close to that amount of sleep. Why? Because I am exclusively pumping.

When my little one was born he latched on right away and did it so well that he left my nipples bleeding. I had to give myself a break and give him the bottle while I healed. And since my little baby is a little genius, he quickly figured out the bottle was a much faster, more satisfying way to get milk. Since then he screams every time I time to get him to breastfeed. Knowing how healthy breast milk is for him, I have insisted on pumping and feeding. This means, I have to pump every 2-3 hours. Most of my day is spent walking around with strange contraptions attached to my breasts as I get milked like a cow. My entire day is planned around when I need to pump. My goal is to get my little one to six months on my breast milk. Right now, it’s perfectly doable. But soon, I’ll be heading back to work (something that’s already giving me nightmares). I don’t exactly work in the most mommy and kid friendly environment. I hope my milk regulates in the next month so that I can pump less but not lose my supply. There’s nothing like mama’s milk and I hope I can keep him on it as long as possible. He’s worth every drop, even if it does leave me so completely exhausted.

-EAST COAST MAMA

20111120-214001.jpg

Tired

5 thoughts on “Tired

  1. Rana says:

    I am pretty much exclusively pumping for my baby too – he’s only 10 weeks, and I’m able to do it every 7-8 hours and it hasn’t reduced my supply. I have the reverse problem that my baby doesn’t sleep longer than 4 hours though, so I guess that’s how new motherhood goes šŸ˜‰

    1. Really Rana? That is amazing!! Did you have a lot of milk from the beginning? How long have you been pumping with 7-8 hours in between? My breasts become rock hard if I wait more than 4 hours. It’s very painful.

  2. Rana says:

    In the beginning I had just enough to give my baby and at first I was doing it every 2-3 hours, but then I started pushing it to 4 hours and then every other feeding, etc. I just started doing it every 7-8 hours so I space it around 6am, 2pm, and 10pm give or take. I also do long sessions of pumping – about 20 mins. Now, how did you get your baby to sleep 7 hours?!

  3. This is great to know. I’m going to try spacing my pumping sessions out more. I’m just so afraid to lose my supply. I’d like to cut it down to four times a day by the time I go back to work in January. As far as the sleeping goes, I’ll make that into my next blog post. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

